25 Heroes of the 101st Airborne Division Awarded DSC’s

17, Including Division General Decorated by Bradley. 8 Sent Back From Continent Also Are Honored

From Stars and Stripes

WITH U.S. FORCES IN NORMANDY, July 13—The Distinguished Service Cross was conferred on 25 officers and men of the 101st Airborne Division, of whom 17 received the award from Lt. Gen. Omar N. Bradley, First Army Commander, at a ceremony at the front. The other eight men had been evacuated from the continent.

101st airborne

Lt. Col. Patrick F. Cassidy, who received the DSC himself, examines the medal of Chaplain John. S. Malony

Among those receiving America’s second highest military decoration was division commander, Maj. Gen. Maxwell Taylor, who was cited for personally leading an attack over a causeway which cleared a path for advancing seaborne units.

Lt. Col. Patrick F. Cassidy, of Pilot Rock, Ore., a battalion commander, was honored for leading a series of actions while “continually exposing himself to heavy enemy fire.”

Another decorated by Bradley was Chaplain John S. Maloney, of Elmira, N.Y., who was cited for “heroic action while assisting medical-aid men under heavy machine-gun fire and aiding the evacuation of wounded under heavy mortar fire.” One of several medical-aid men to receive the DSC was Pvt. Andrew Sosnack, of Pittsburgh, who treated and fed two wounded men in an exposed position for three days before he could evacuate them.

101st airborne

Lt. Gen. Omar N. Bradley addresses the 101st Airborne Division after presenting awards.

Others decorated by Bradley were:

Maj. Lloyd E. Patch, Brockton Mass.: Capt. Frank L. Lillyman, Skaneateles, N.Y.: Capt. St. Julien P. Rosemond, Miami: Capt. Richard D. Winters, Lancaster, Pa.: 1/Sgt. Hubert Odom, Leesburg, Ga.: 1/Sgt. Kenneth N. Sprecher, Tipp City, Ohio: S/Sgt. Harrison C. Summers, Catawha, W. Va.: Sgt. O’Dell K. Cassidy, Crewe, Va.: Sgt. Bailey Harrison, Lewisville, Ark.: Cpl. Vergial E. Danforth. Indianapolis: Cpl. George Montilio, Quincy, Mass: Cpl. Jack A. Rudd, Northville, N.Y., and Pvt. Francis L. Harbough, Huntington Park, Cal.

The eight recipients of the award evacuated prior to the ceremony are: Lt. Col. Raymond D. Millener, Hazelton, Pa.: 2/Lt. Walter G. Amerman, Decatur, Ill.: 2/Lt. Charles J. Santarsiero, Scranton, Pa.: Sgt. Robert J. Houston, Theresa, N.Y.: Sgt. Robert F. Langen, San Jose, Cal.: Pfc. Lee N. Rogers, Aberdeen, Wash.: Pvt. Lloyd J. Leino, Minneapolis, and Pvt. Arthur C. Mayer, Chicago.

For Related Articles See:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Past and Present WWII History Posts